Introduction

Hi! My name is Zach, and this is my blog. Basically, lately, I’ve been getting the urge to write some stuff down, but the thought of actually going through and creating a blog before I could to all that seemed daunting. Thus, I have created this blog at 2 in the morning after getting home from a New Kids on the Block/Back Street Boys tour concert (don’t judge me to harshly: I work at a concert venue selling merch) so that should that need arise again, I have the option waiting here for me.

Some of the stuff I’ve wanted to write about in the past (and, thus, may in the future) is mostly to do with logic, computer science and set theory. I guess you could call this another atheist blog, too, since I plan on writing about certain atheist-related issues, but we’ll see what comes up.

One difference to a lot of blogs I’ve seen, I really want to dive into the nitty-gritty of the logic and math that I’m talking about here, so I suspect a lot of what I write will be explanations of classical logic, non-classical logics, introductory set theory, modal logic, etc so that I can move on to do cooler stuff that I think would be fun to talk about, such as Gödel’s theorems, epistemic logic, artificial intelligence, paraconsistent logics, and more. In fact, just today I learned about something cool called abductive programming which is a model for teaching machines how to make leaps in reasoning that might not necessarily be true (much like the way the human brain works). I also have some thoughts about how I think modelling a computer system after a brain works, but those are more on the philosophical side of things. I chose wordpress because I heard it has LaTeX support, which will make that easier to present. Thus, I can write cool things like:

\forall\Phi\varphi,\psi,\chi(\varphi\Phi\varphi\rightarrow(((\varphi\Phi\psi\wedge\varphi\Phi\chi)\rightarrow\psi\Phi\chi)\leftrightarrow((\varphi\Phi\psi\rightarrow\psi\Phi\varphi)\wedge((\varphi\Phi\psi\wedge\psi\Phi\chi)\rightarrow\varphi\Phi\chi))))

Which is supposed to be a sentence of second-order logic saying that any reflexive relation is euclidean if and only if it is both symmetric and transitive. But like I said, 2am… so I’m not going to proof read it. Even if I did, those words probably won’t mean much to you… yet!

On the atheism side, I guess I’ll just talk about whatever strikes my fancy, although one thing I’d like to lead up to is a modal logic-based refutation of Matt Slick’s transcendental argument for the existence of God. It’s too late at night for me to bother looking up links, so you can Google it if you really want. That’ll take a lot of building up to, I think.

Oh, anyways, who am I? Like I said, I’m Zach. I have a BSc in Computer Science with a minor in philosophy, where I mostly focused on logic. I live in Canada, am an atheist, and a nerd.

But more from me later…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

